Dungeon Painter Studio Work

zatoseyes

May 11, 2020
So I started playing fairly regular D&D games with my friends over Roll20 a long time ago and ever since I started DMing for the group I've been using Dungeon Painter Studio to whip maps together for various encounters. I thought some might like to see what I've created for funsies, and maybe see what can be done with the software.

First is one I've done pretty recently. It's the main room of the tavern in my current game. If you've ever used DPS before you might recognize some of the decor. I can see some not enjoying this particular aesthetic, as my tiles and objects are cobbled together from a variety of things I picked up in the Steam Workshop. Thus the varying quality, reuse of some things, and general ugliness. Sometimes you have to resize something to get it to fit where you want your players to see it, and the results can be somewhat mixed. My goal when I make one of these is to make sure my players can identify the things of importance on the map, like the bar, or the stairs.

If you're wondering about the shadowy blob down the left side of the room, that's my best attempt at filling in a shadow to represent the balcony floor above. I let my imagination guide me a lot when I'm scribbling maps out in my grid paper tablet, and sometimes that leads to unrealistic ideas about tavern rooms. It gives the place some character. This is one of five pieces used to construct the whole tavern in Roll20. Not pictured are the basement, bedrooms, kitchen, and second floor. But I may share more in the future.

SlyWinkBar(11x13).png

• Love
Reactions: Vesalius

RiffRaff

Human Person, Maybe
Robot
May 11, 2020
Italy
Never heard of DPS. Definitely gonna check it out when my buddies and I can start getting together regularly again for D&D.

Reactions: zatoseyes

meanderbot

May 11, 2020
Hey, that looks pretty cool!